LAS CRUCES COVID-19 RESOURCE GUIDE

NOTICE
EFFECTIVE THURSDAY, FEB. 11, THE STATE WILL NO LONGER REQUIRE SELF-QUARANTINE FOR VISITORS AND NEW MEXICANS ARRIVING INTO THE STATE from “high-risk” states, or states with a 5 percent positivity rate or greater over a seven-day rolling average or a positive test rate greater than 80 per 1 million residents. See below.
FACE COVERINGS ARE REQUIRED FOR ALL VISITORS AND RESIDENTS IN NEW MEXICO. The only exceptions are when drinking, eating or under written medical instruction. Violators are subject to a $100 fine.

UPDATES

State to phase out travel quarantine requirements

Photo by Anna Shvets from Pexels

The state of New Mexico on Wednesday, Feb. 10 announced a change in its mandatory self-quarantine requirements for visitors into the state, owing to a cautiously brighter pandemic outlook after several months of unsustainable strain on the state’s health care system.

On Feb. 10, the Department of Health announced 15 counties had reached the Yellow Level under the state’s color-coding risk system, with four additional counties at the Green Level. All but four of the state’s counties saw a positivity rate below 10 percent in the most recent two-week period, signaling that with continued vigilance most every county in the state could soon reach less-restrictive levels.

Effective Thursday, Feb. 11, the state will no longer require self-quarantine for visitors or New Mexicans arriving into the state from “high-risk” states, or states with a 5 percent positivity rate or greater over a 7-day rolling average, or a positive test rate greater than 80 per 1 million residents.

Visitors from anywhere outside of the state will instead be strongly advised to self-quarantine for a period of 14 days and to seek out a COVID-19 test upon their arrival in or return to New Mexico.

Previously the state had required visitors or arrivals from “high-risk” states to physically separate from others in a residence or place of lodging for at least 14 days from the date of their entry into New Mexico or for the duration of their presence in the state, whichever is shorter. As of Feb. 9, only Hawaii was deemed a “low-risk” state, defined as a state with a 5 percent positivity rate or lower over a 7-day rolling average and a positive test rate lower than 80 per 1 million residents.

The executive order formalizing these changes is attached to this news release.

“New Mexicans have sacrificed to make this recent progress, and I encourage all New Mexicans and visitors to our state to maintain vigilance in the coming weeks,” said Gov. Michelle Lujan Grisham. “Please consider continuing to limit travel to only what is necessary for your work and family. This is the best way to ensure our progress is sustained, and we can continue to save lives and protect New Mexicans’ health and livelihoods.”

The overall suppression of the virus across different regions of New Mexico, supplemented by the state’s aggressive testing efforts and expeditious distribution of vaccine, contributed to the best statewide showing under the color-coding system that has been in place since the late fall. Information about the state’s color-coding system is available here at cv.nmhealth.org/redtogreen.

NEW MEXICO TRAVEL RESTRICTIONS IN EFFECT

FAQ

Effective Thursday, Feb. 11, the state will no longer require self-quarantine for visitors or New Mexicans arriving into the state from “high-risk” states, or states with a 5 percent positivity rate or greater over a 7-day rolling average, or a positive test rate greater than 80 per 1 million residents.

Visitors from anywhere outside of the state will instead be strongly advised to self-quarantine for a period of 14 days and to seek out a COVID-19 test upon their arrival in or return to New Mexico.

The state’s testing locations are available here​ and through cv.nmhealth.org. Individuals seeking information about testing and COVID-19 generally may also call 1-855-600-3453.

Photo by Johannes Plenio from Pexels

Hotels & Lodging

Hotels, resorts, and other lodging establishments that have been safe-certified will operate at 40% maximum occupancy. Those that have not completed the training will operate at 25% capacity. Five guests max for vacation rentals.

Masks required when entering/exiting, exercising and moving about the hotel, the only exceptions are when drinking, eating or under written medical instruction.

Restaurants

All food and drink establishments serving alcohol must close at 9 p.m. daily. No indoor dining is permitted. Outdoor dining is limited to 25% maximum capacity. Restaurants may continue to operate carry out, pickup and delivery services. Breweries may continue to operate curbside pickup services. When you enter/exit the restaurant and are away from your table, a face covering is required. The only exceptions are when eating, drinking or under written medical instruction.

Retail

Essential retail may operate at 25% maximum occupancy  in accordance with COVID-Safe Practices. All other retailers and indoor malls may operate at 25% maximum occupancy or 75 customers (whichever is fewer) in accordance with COVID-Safe Practices. Masks are required, the only exceptions are when drinking, eating or under written medical instruction.
Photo by Gustavo Fring from Pexels

Salons, Barber Shops and Spas

Hair salons, barber shops, nail salons, massage services and related services may operate at 25% maximum occupancy or 10 customers (whichever is fewer) in accordance with COVID-Safe Practices. Masks required, the only exceptions are when under written medical instruction.
Photo by Thgusstavo Santana from Pexels

Gyms

Gyms may operate at 25% maximum occupancy or 10 customers (whichever is fewer) in accordance with COVID-Safe Practices. Masks required, the only exceptions are when under written medical instruction.

Photo by Andrea Piacquadio from Pexels

Travel

Effective Thursday, Feb. 11, the state will no longer require self-quarantine for visitors or New Mexicans arriving into the state from “high-risk” states, or states with a 5 percent positivity rate or greater over a 7-day rolling average, or a positive test rate greater than 80 per 1 million residents.

Visitors from anywhere outside of the state will instead be strongly advised to self-quarantine for a period of 14 days and to seek out a COVID-19 test upon their arrival in or return to New Mexico.

The state’s testing locations are available here​ and through cv.nmhealth.org. Individuals seeking information about testing and COVID-19 generally may also call 1-855-600-3453.

Photo by Gustavo Fring from Pexels

Hotels & Lodging

Hotels & Lodging

Hotels, resorts, and other lodging establishments that have been safe-certified will operate at 40% maximum occupancy. Those that have not completed the training will operate at 25% capacity. Five guests max for vacation rentals.

Masks required when entering/exiting, exercising and moving about the hotel, the only exceptions are when drinking, eating or under written medical instruction.

Restaurants

Restaurants

All food and drink establishments serving alcohol must close at 9 p.m. daily. No indoor dining is permitted. Outdoor dining is limited to 25% maximum capacity. Restaurants may continue to operate carry out, pickup and delivery services. Breweries may continue to operate curbside pickup services. When you enter/exit the restaurant and are away from your table, a face covering is required. The only exceptions are when eating, drinking or under written medical instruction.

Retail

Retail

Essential retail may operate at 25% maximum occupancy  in accordance with COVID-Safe Practices. All other retailers and indoor malls may operate at 25% maximum occupancy or 75 customers (whichever is fewer) in accordance with COVID-Safe Practices. Masks are required, the only exceptions are when drinking, eating or under written medical instruction.
Photo by Gustavo Fring from Pexels

Salons, Barber Shops and Spas

Salons, Barber Shops and Spas

Hair salons, barber shops, nail salons, massage services and related services may operate at 25% maximum occupancy or 10 customers (whichever is fewer) in accordance with COVID-Safe Practices. Masks required, the only exceptions are when under written medical instruction.
Photo by Thgusstavo Santana from Pexels

Gyms

Gyms

Gyms may operate at 25% maximum occupancy or 10 customers (whichever is fewer) in accordance with COVID-Safe Practices. Masks required, the only exceptions are when under written medical instruction.

Photo by Andrea Piacquadio from Pexels

Travel

Travel

Effective Thursday, Feb. 11, the state will no longer require self-quarantine for visitors or New Mexicans arriving into the state from “high-risk” states, or states with a 5 percent positivity rate or greater over a 7-day rolling average, or a positive test rate greater than 80 per 1 million residents.

Visitors from anywhere outside of the state will instead be strongly advised to self-quarantine for a period of 14 days and to seek out a COVID-19 test upon their arrival in or return to New Mexico.

The state’s testing locations are available here​ and through cv.nmhealth.org. Individuals seeking information about testing and COVID-19 generally may also call 1-855-600-3453.

Photo by Gustavo Fring from Pexels

New Mexico Safe Certified Restaurants

NM Safe Certified Restaurants

All food and drink establishments serving alcohol must close at 10 p.m. daily. Restaurants and breweries can offer indoor dining service at 25% maximum occupancy. Outdoor dining is limited to 75% maximum capacity. Restaurants may continue to operate carry out, pickup and delivery services. Breweries may continue to operate curbside pickup services. When you enter/exit the restaurant and are away from your table, a face covering is required. The only exceptions are when eating, drinking or under written medical instruction.

If the restaurant you want to patronize is not listed, please call to confirm if it is NM Safe Certified. Restaurants are still in the process of completing their online profiles, so they may not be listed, yet.
Las Cruces          Mesilla          Doña Ana           Hatch

Search NM Safe Certified Businesses

PLAYING IT SAFE

ARE NEW MEXICO'S NATIONAL PARKS OPEN?

YES

White Sands National Park is open with limited access. The visitor center and gift shop are closed. The dunes, hiking trails and picnic areas are open.

Carlsbad Caverns National Park iis open with limited access. Tickets are limited to 1,000 visitors per day and available on a first-come, first-served basis. Cavern entrance occurs every 15 minutes based on the ticket time. Last ticket sold at 2:15 pm. Tickets may sell out sooner based on first-come, first-served.

WHITE SANDS NATIONAL PARK      |      CARLSBAD CAVERNS NATIONAL PARK

ARE NEW MEXICO'S STATE PARKS OPEN?

YES AND NO

Not all state parks in New Mexico are open. Before you visit, check for closures, restrictions and hours. Out-of-state visitors are NOT allowed at New Mexico state parks. Visitors to state parks must demonstrate proof of residency or will not be permitted entry.

LIST OF STATE PARKS THAT ARE OPEN      |       FAQ

COVID-19 Resource Guide

As you know, limitations and restrictions designed to help curb the spread of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) continue to impact travel, attractions, and businesses throughout the city, state, and country. The information below is designed to provide information about what restrictions are in place and what resources are available for travelers.

Visit Las Cruces is continually monitoring the rapidly changing situation and will be updating this page as the situations changes or new information becomes available. The Visit Las Cruces offices are currently closed until futher notice. For more general information, please contact: cvb@lascrucescvb.org

To help ensure the health and safety of travelers and community members,  travelers are encouraged to always exercise healthy travel habits and follow guidance issued by official sources of public health information.

If you feel ill, please refrain from traveling and stay home. If you suspect you may have COVID-19, call the New Mexico Department of Health (NMDOH) at (505) 827-0006. For additional information and resources, call the NMDOH Coronavirus Hotline at 1-855-600-3453 or visit: http://cv.nmhealth.org/

Photo by Anna Shvets from Pexels

X